It’s Independence Day!

I hope you are having a happy and safe Fourth of July holiday. I’m happy because I’m working towards my own independence day. Why are you happy today?

I thought I would give you a little background information so you have a better idea where I am coming from. I have one business already. I started it in 2003. I make and sell beaded jewelry, mostly at Christmas craft shows. The name of my business is “Sweet Creations – Jewelry by Candy” and it violates many of the principles of naming a business. For example, it’s too long – sweetcreations-jewelrybycandy.com is a mouthful! Also, it’s too specific. What if I decided to create something other than jewelry?

You may be wondering why I didn’t go with just “Sweet Creations” or “Jewelry by Candy” First, I found out that “Sweet Creations” was registered to a bakery somewhere in Florida when I tried to register it on the Fictitious name website. Second, I never thought of going with “Jewelry by Candy” until a minute ago!! So, wait here while I go look to see if that’s registered to anyone else in Florida … No it isn’t but there were 21 businesses registered that started with “Jewelry by …”

I decided to use my initials in naming any new endeavors. And I came up with a logo. It stems from the way I have initialed things since I was a teenager. Here’s my logo for the consulting business I’m working on:

CandyHill_logo-centered

Next time we’ll investigate what’s the right legal structure for your new business. There are four types of business structures — sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company or corporation — each has its own advantages and disadvantages.

Leave a Reply

